+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 61

Thread: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    25

    Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    Greetings all. I recently bought a Tech 2 that came with a GM NAO 32MB card. There's a post here from a couple of years ago with the contents of a Saab 32MB card.

    viewtopic.php?f=29&t=95&p=1168

    I was able to use Hex Workshop to read the GM card and save the contents as a .bin file, but I am unable to overwrite the GM card with the Saab .bin file. Hex Workshop alerts me if the "write protect" switch on the card is set to prevent saving changes to the card. When the switch is set to allow writing, Hex Workshop "thinks" it is saving changes to the card (no error, warning, alert, etc.) but data on the card remains unchanged. I have worked on this long enough to determine that either a problem with the "generic" PCMCIA device driver, or a problem with the hardware interface is preventing me from writing to the card. I even played with "dd" from the command line with similar results. Perhaps it is because of the "linear" nature of the flash memory on the card. This all under Windows XP.

    Can anyone give me a hint on what I need to get XP to write to the card before I start fooling around with some older distribution of Linux (for which there seem to exist linear PCMCIA flash drivers) ?

    Best regards,

    David Prantl.

  2. #2
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    25

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    Oh, and in case someone is interested, here's the contents of the Saab 10MB card, version 43.000, useful on 1988-2002 Saabs (works without CANdi on '99 to '02 models).
    Attached Files

  3. #3
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    24

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    That is very interesting file, but how I can put to my 10Mb card?

  4. #4
    Sr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    115

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    You can not write the memory card for the Tech2 with ususal hardware. You need very special hardware and software like the Memory Card Explorer from Elan Digital Systems.
    Tony's car: Saab 9-5 Aero MY2006
    Ferrita downpipe with race catalyst
    Ferrita stainless steel cat-back exhaust
    K&N air filter

  5. #5
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    19

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    What kind of special hardware is needed and are there some freeware programs for writing binary files?
    Saab 900SE 2.0T Cabriolet A -97

  6. #6
    Sr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minsk Belarus
    Posts
    220

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    and whats the problem connecting tech to tis and uploading neccesary soft? ;)
    Sometimes nonsense make sense, but not today, not today....

    CAR:9000CC 2.3 T16SA
    MODS: fading in/out interrior light, automatic headlamp leveling
    IN Progress: Total repaint, Trionic install, gt28BB install, custom front IC
    Sandy_rus: friend
    ;)

  7. #7
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    24

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    Quote Originally Posted by MrAzE
    and whats the problem connecting tech to tis and uploading neccesary soft? ;)
    I think it is not problem ;) I was not sure if it is possible to do with TIS.

  8. #8
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Europe/Sweden
    Posts
    15

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    Does any of you info of any non original vetronix card that works with the tech2?
    I also have the tech2 and can make software for several brands including Saab but I only have two cards. This gives me the problem that when the need comes to a software not on the card I have to reprogram the card.

    BTW. If you need unlocked software (factory access), send me a PM.

  9. #9
    Jr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    24

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    I have a same problem with non original 10mb card. Is it possible to format non original card and after that it will work in tech2 ?

    I have now tech2, Tis2000, working connection and 10mb card (sharp ce-af05 10mb ata).

  10. #10
    Sr. Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    197

    Re: Tech 2 PCMCIA cards

    Quote Originally Posted by stefa
    I have a same problem with non original 10mb card. Is it possible to format non original card and after that it will work in tech2 ?

    I have now tech2, Tis2000, working connection and 10mb card (sharp ce-af05 10mb ata).
    You need "Linear Flash Cards" to make it work with the Tech2, unfortunately they are quite expensive.
    http://www.psism.com/automobile-tester.htm

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Tech 2
    By sail2fast in forum How To Do Things / FAQ's / Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1 Day Ago, 10:23 AM
  2. 32mb pcmcia card TECH2 saab 98-06
    By reinoso in forum SAAB General Info
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 31st, 2010, 09:20 AM
  3. Another TECH 2 Post....
    By Aaron in forum Generic ECU Tuning Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 26th, 2009, 06:15 PM
  4. Help! need driver for phillips wireless pcmcia card!!
    By liltLeriJeorm in forum Anything you want to post NON- Tuning Related
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 24th, 2009, 04:39 AM
  5. Upgrade with TECH 2
    By L4staero in forum Trionic 7 Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 22nd, 2008, 08:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts